Soccer Snack Wars

I figured it was fitting to begin my blog on the first day of soccer season considering I titled the blog ‘Snack Wars’. This all has to do with the war I wage every sports season with parents and coaches about the snack epidemic. Snack epidemic, you say? Yes! When my oldest child started playing soccer in Kindergarten, 4 years ago now, the coach asked every parent to sign up to bring post games snacks. Since I felt that it would be cruel and unfair to not allow my child to participate in the snacks while the rest of her teammates did, I decided to wage the war by suggesting we bring healthy snacks and even provided the team with a list of healthy ideas. While this went over well for the most part, some parents still brought Doritos and Oreos to share with the team after playing a game. I was outraged! Really? Our kids just engaged in some healthy exercise, and now we are feeding them crap! What is the point? The number one reason I sign my children up for organized sports is to participate in an active lifestyle. I don’t then want to reward them with unhealthy foods. I don’t want food to be a reward, period! Personally, I have no idea why these young athletes need to have a snack after playing for one hour. Most players live within 10 minutes from the field and are probably heading home after the game. On top of it, there is a snack bar at the fields in which the organization wants families to support, so if a child needs to be fed after an hour, why not go spend money at the snack bar and therefore, support the sports organization? My kids know I rarely allow them to eat anything from the snack bar, and if I know we are going to be at the fields for 2 hours with back to back games I will provide them with a healthy snack from home. So here we are at the beginning of another season. This time I am assistant coach for one of my children’s teams and believe me, I will still be waging the snack wars!

2 thoughts on “Soccer Snack Wars

Leave a Reply

