Homemade Almond Milk and Pinkalicious Smoothie Recipes

Homemade Almond Milk

 

It’s time to go to the grocery store. My fridge is nearly bare. Last night’s dinner was “Use It Up, Throw It In” night where we make a meal of whatever is left in the fridge. I sauteed some baby zucchini, spinach, red onion, and baked sweet potatoes with some homemade taco seasoning and made a meal of that. The kids enjoyed leftover sweet potato black bean burritos, and zucchini cheese quesadillas with a side of peas. After declaring the quesadillas were the best ever, I told them they had zucchini in them. “Huh. I didn’t even realize,” was their response! Score one for me! Anyhow, last night I took a look at what was left in the fridge to figure out what I would eat for breakfast the next day and decided I would make a smoothie with a couple of oranges, some frozen raspberries, and a frozen banana, but I was out of almond milk. No fear. I bought a nut milk bag (my husband can’t stop laughing) a few weeks ago and figured I would try and make my own almond milk. Wow!  I surprised at how easy the process was and how delicious homemade almond milk tastes!

Homemade Almond Milk

Soak 1 cup whole raw almonds overnight in water.

Rinse and drain almonds, and add to blender with 4 cups filtered water.

Blend and when it begins to froth, pour into nut milk bag (I bought mine at Whole Foods) and squeeze all the liquid out. You should be left with about 1/2 – 1 cup of almond pulp which can be used in smoothies, muffins, oatmeal, etc. No waste! How awesome is that?!!

Pour the liquid back into the blender and add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, and 10 drops of liquid stevia. Blend until thoroughly mixed.

Ta da! Homemade Almond Milk!

Obviously adjust the ingredients added to the end of the process, to suit your taste. Dates, honey, or maple syrup can be substituted for stevia, or leave the milk unsweetened. Cocoa powder can be added for a chocolate fix or leave the milk completely natural with just the almonds and water. Enjoy and have fun finding which taste you like best! Please share what you come up with!

 

Pinkalicious Smoothie

Two oranges peeled and blended in a 1/4 cup water. I pushed the orange juice through a colander to get rid of the pulp, but if you don’t mind pulp leave it. Then I added the orange juice back to the blender.

I then added a frozen banana and about 1/2 cup frozen raspberries plus 1 1/2 cups homemade almond milk. Blend until thoroughly mixed.

This was seriously the best smoothie I have made to date. It was so good I drank it before I could take a picture! You’ll just have to use your imagination!

 

 

Leave a Reply

