Plastics Purge

IMG_3122

deoderant//lotion//toothpaste

 

Lately I have become obsessed with using less plastic and in turn have started making my own products. I have turned to Zero Waste Home and Trash is for Tossers for ideas on more sustainable ways of living, as well as recipes for products, such as toothpaste, deoderant, and body lotion. So far I have been pleased with these DIY recipes and think they work just as well as store bought items. They do take some getting used to at first, but I love that I can custom make them to my liking with different essential oils, as well as I know exactly what is going into them.

Research has shown that plastics can leach hormone-like chemicals into food and liquids and these can cause health issues, such as cancer. Even BPA-free alternatives may not be safe according to the latest study. Since plastics are not bio-degradeable and if they are not being reused, repurposed, recycled, or upcycled, they end up in landfills where they take up to 1,000 years to decompose, if at all.

I am slowly replacing many of the plastics in our house with stainless steel, glass, and bamboo. Bamboo is my new obsession! Bamboo is a highly sustainable, fully bio-degradeable material. Bamboo trees reach maturity in 3-5 years, where as hard wood trees, such as oak or maple, take 30-50 years. Bamboo plants also provide a great deal of oxygen (about 35% more than other trees) and can prosper in diverse climates. Bamboo is water resistant and therefore prevents warping, its fibers are antibiotic, and it is naturally resistant to rot. Bamboo is also flexible and lightweight,  yet super strong! It has been compared to maple wood, but I’ve read as strong as steel! I recently invested in both a bamboo cutting board and dish cleaning brush. For Christmas Santa even brought me a package of bamboo compostable toothbrushes!

My husband suggests that my next project be making paper out of hemp…another sustainable source!

 

 

Leave a Reply

